Pedal*

“I’m just going into the charity shop,” Dad says, dismounting from his bike.  “To see if they have any brandy glasses.  Charity shops are a good place to find brandy glasses.”

“OK,” I say.  “I’ll wait for you here.”

It’s been an annoying shopping trip so far: have attempted to buy clips to attach my spin shoes to my real bike, but you need whole new pedals apparently:

  
They cost £46 in the local bike shop, so need to see if can find them, or something similar, cheaper elsewhere.

Dad rests his bike against the charity shop window.  Looking in the window, I see all the fluffy animals sitting on shelves.  What sort of person gives their furry animals away to a shop, I think.  How cruel.  Presumably some people grow out of them, or their mothers give the animals away.  Wish I could buy all of them and take them home, I think.  They look so sad sitting there, unloved.

And then my eye is caught by someone unusual.  At first glance I think he’s a mole, then decide he’s some sort of hedgehog and then I realise: he’s an echidna.  In all my years of looking at stuffed toys in shops, I’ve never seen an echidna before.  Here he is:

  
  Running into the shop, I pick him up and take him over to the till.  £2.50 it says on his label.

“This one please,” I say.

In the attached photo, he’s posing with today’s cocktail: gin, Grand Marnier, lime and diet Red Bull.

Happy Tuesday everyone! 
*2014.  By Chelsea Rooney.  Novel about paedophilia.

4 comments

  1. deb · January 19, 2016

    Buy good pedals! Cheap ones might snap or fall apart when you switch them back and forth with the regular pedals. Just interfering …

    Liked by 1 person

    • waternymph88 · January 19, 2016

      Thank you! Will do. Am just grumpy about the price…xxx

      Like

  2. widerangingramblings · January 20, 2016

    You may be able to find the exact ones on Amazon for less! Love the echidna! My long suffering mother is storing most of my stuffed animals so they can go to the next generation! xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

