Bad Day In Blackrock*

The flat phone rings.  Sighing, I climb out of the bath to answer it because have a feeling that know who is calling.

“Hello?” I say, wrapping my towel round myself, sitting on a chair.

“Hello, where have you been?” Mum says.  

“Here.  I’ve been here,” I say.  Knew it would be Mum as missed her call earlier.  “I’ve been sleeping and now I’m in the bath and…”

“I need you to be here,” Mum says.  “Your cat has got poo on his furry trousers and I need you to clean him.”

“He doesn’t like being touched near his bottom,” I say.  “He’d take my hand off and aggravate my lymphodoema or…”

“It’s ever so cold today,” Mum says.

“That’s why I’m at my warm flat,” I say.  “Must be under the weather: have even put the heating on.  Mum – is it OK if I return to my bath?  I’m washing my hair and…”

“OK darling,” Mum says.  “We’ll see you tomorrow.”

Am nursing a severe injury: dropped The Complete Richard Burton Diaries on my foot last night.  Have a huge bruise: it’s a 660 page book.  On the plus side, it’s perfect for #middleclassinjuries.

Have achieved:

1.  Washing hair and self.

2.  Washing and hanging up clothes on airer.

3.  Watching a bit of Wales vs Italy and now Ireland vs Scotland rugby matches.

4.  Unloading dishwasher.

5.  Watering house plants.

6.  Feeding birds.

7.  Spin – well, first half of it.  Had to leave early due to foot injury and earache.  Must be under the weather: can’t remember the last time couldn’t struggle through a whole spin class…

Now just need to put on clothes, make supper and prepare for England vs France later.  

Attached photo is my Spin outfit.

Happy Saturday everyone!
*2008.  By Kevin Power.  Detective novel set in the Dublin rugby scene.  Based on true events.

2 comments

  1. widerangingramblings · March 20, 2016

    I hope your foot gets better soon!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

