Death Of A Garden Pest*

“So, we’re going to descend seven hundred steps,” our guide says.  “If there is anyone who thinks that they can’t manage that…”

We’re on a tour of the wonderful Baha’i Gardens (see attached photo).  It’s so beautiful.  

It’s also very hot here at midday.  Am enjoying the gorgeous plants, such as this strelitzia:

  
Then, suddenly, I’m gripped by severe chest pains.  

“Mum,” I say.  “I’ve got terrible pains in my chest and…”

“What sort of pains?” Mum says, putting her arm around me.

“I don’t know,” I say.  “It’s just awful.”  Gritting my teeth, I keep walking.

Eventually, we make it to the restaurant.  Sitting down, sipping water, my discomfort disappears.

“Maybe it was caused by the change in altitude,” I say to my brother.  “We’ve just walked from the top of the mountain to the bottom and…”

“Or something to do with your surgery,” my brother says.  “The weight of your lungs pressing on your chest.”

Anyway: have survived but that was frightening.    On the plus side: saw a hummingbird drinking out of a flower.  He was tiny and wasn’t able to get a photo but was great to see him.

Happy Saturday everyone!
*1996.  By Ann Ripley.  Gardening murder mystery novel.

2 comments

  1. widerangingramblings · April 24, 2016

    Gosh what a totally gorgeous place!! I am sorry you had that frightening moment though!! I was just re-reading your posts, how tiresome that panther is – also he is full of LIES, you look fab in all your pictures and are most definitely not fat!!! Have a lovely holiday and enjoy rocking your shorts!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

