Dead By Sunset*

  
The sun sets over the sea.  Am sitting on the balcony, watching it.  The panther stretches himself along the sun lounger next to me.  Stroking his head, I listen to the barking of nearby dogs.  Magpies caw.  

Downstairs, there are sounds of supper preparation: plates crash and can hear Dad sniffing.  He’s acquired an allergy to something.

“Why don’t we get you some allergy medication,” my brother says earlier in the day.

“No: I don’t want to take it,” Dad says, sneezing.  “I’ve read that it causes Alzheimer’s.”

Look at this magpie who just landed near me:

  
Seb is always in my thoughts but I must try to forget him.  The important thing is to enjoy my holiday with my family.

Am going to help Mum prepare supper.

The attached photo is my new turquoise dress which I wore yesterday.

Happy Sunday everyone!
*1995.  By Ann Rule.  True crime non-fiction book.

4 comments

  1. Tim Newton · April 24, 2016

    Magpies Caw when Panther stirs, may your feathered friends serve you well. Enjoy your break from Metropolis as much as we enjoy your descriptive words. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. L. Rorschach · April 24, 2016

    Big hugs. xxx It’s so difficult. I was actually even Googling “how to heal a broken heart” last night….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

