Evil Under The Sun*

  
“The locals think it’s too cold to swim,” my brother says.

“But it’s warm,” I say: swimming.

We’re in the sea.  Can’t remember the last time I swam in the sea.  It stretches towards the horizon.  The sun beats down on us – it’s thirty three degrees at the moment.  

Mum and the panther are on the beach.  The panther doesn’t swim if he can help it.

“I reckon that’s Dad,” my brother says – looking towards the shore where someone is paddling towards us.  We wave to him in the hope that he’ll spot us.

“This is great,” I say to my brother – and suddenly I feel content to be with my family in the sea.  Seb doesn’t love me anymore, I think, and this pierces my heart.  Pushing the thought away, I swim towards the horizon.

The attached photo is this morning’s outfit.

Happy Tuesday everyone!
*1941.  By Agatha Christie.  Hercule Poirot detective novel.  One of my favourites…

7 comments

  1. Tim Newton · April 26, 2016

    The Captain hollers ‘Maid Overboard!!!!!’

    ‘Leave her a while Sir’ says first mate, ‘it’ll give the fair maid a rest, panther ain’t keen on the water you see’.

    ‘Rest ? REST?’ pipes Captain ‘the maid’s more active than a Mexican Hurdler’

    ‘Oh leave her be’ says first mate.

    Liked by 2 people

    • waternymph88 · April 26, 2016

      Eh?!

      Like

      • Tim Newton · April 26, 2016

        Apologies if my commentary appears rather confusing Cordelia, it was my rather weak interpretation of you enjoying a swim, panther at a distance and active mind at rest. Do forgive my occasional idle twaddle x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. dmf2001 · April 26, 2016

    wish i could swim in the sea, but it’s freezing here so will just have to wait

    Liked by 1 person

  3. L. Rorschach · April 26, 2016

    I love those shorts! Super cute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

