The Hummingbird Wizard*

Sitting on the balcony, gazing at the sea, I feel so sad to be leaving my brother and returning to the miseries of my life.  And then a purple and turquoise creature catches my eye.  You can see him in the attached photo, but his colours haven’t come out well.  Here he is:


He’s a Palestine Sunbird – the only local hummingbird.  He sits on the railings.  I get a good look at his astonishing, metallic beauty.  He’s come here to sit with me.  I’m so lucky.

It won’t be so bad at home, I tell myself.  There will be the goldfinches at the parentals.  No-one will make me return to the flat until I feel better.  Although the panther is here and am still devastated about Seb, there is hope.  Will be allowed to start the new drug, and maybe that will help.  Will return to Spin and that is bound to make me feel better.

Happy Sunday everyone!
*2012.  By Meredith Blevins.  Book 1 in the Annie Szabo mystery series.

4 comments

  1. snakesinthegrass2014 · May 1, 2016

    Damn, that’s a really great snap of that bird from a phone. My attempts always end in disaster. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Tim Newton · May 1, 2016

    Panther has behaved well during your deserved break, maybe the unfamiliar surroundings cast doubt over his ability ?
    Safe journey home and remember Magpies’ caw xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

