The Lion’s Game*


“Nelson, come back here at once,” the keeper says.  The hyacinth macaw has abandoned his partner and his perch (see above), cleared the barrier and is strolling across the grass into the crowd.  “Nelson, return to your perch,” the keeper says.

A toddler bursts into tears as the enormous bird approaches him.  Am at the local safari park with the parentals.  It’s my birthday and I’ve been dreading today – last year had the most perfect birthday with Seb, we were so happy and so on.  It’s impossible to feel miserable when a disobedient hyacinth macaw is strolling across the grass in front of me though.

“Nelson, fly back to your perch,” the keeper says.

Oh, OK then, Nelson seems to say, turning his gigantic head, vaulting the barrier and flying across the grass.  He sits next to his flight partner on the perch.

“Are you having a nice birthday, darling?” Mum says, as we sit on a hill eating our picnic.

“Yes, thank you,” I say.  “I mean, it’s not a brilliant reflection on where I am in life: spending my thirty seventh birthday with my parents.  But it’s lovely to be here and…”

“Some people your age have teenage children,” Dad says.  “Are there any more egg sandwiches?”

“Let’s get the bus to the lions after lunch,” I say.

The panther’s ears prick up with the mention of his relations.  You’d think he’d be interested in the maras all around us, but he’s not.

So, we see the hippos:


The lions:


Then we trudge across from “Africa” into “Asia” where we see the Tigers and elephants:


It’s a lovely birthday.

The attached photo is Nelson the hyacinth macaw on the grass.

Happy Sunday everyone!
*2000.  By Nelson DeMille.  Joe Corey detective novel, book 2.

11 comments

  1. Sally Feldman · May 15, 2016

    Happy birthday gorgeous girl. Let me know when you fell up to a lunch treat with your old auntie xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. L. Rorschach · May 15, 2016

    Happy happy birthday, Tanya! The safari park sounds like it was a wonderful way to spend the day. Great photos, too! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. samdfb1 · May 16, 2016

    Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. snakesinthegrass2014 · May 17, 2016

    A belated happy birthday from two of us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. widerangingramblings · July 5, 2016

    I’m so sorry!! I fell behind in my reading and missed your birthday!! This is SHOCKINGLY late but HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!!! XXXXX

    PS I spent my 26th at the penguins with my mother, I think Zoo visits with the parentals is obviously the cool kids bday of choice!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • waternymph88 · July 5, 2016

      Ahhhhh thank you darling! Have missed your comments! xxx

      Like

      • widerangingramblings · July 5, 2016

        I am binge reading now and trying not to bombard you but didn’t want to let your birthday post pass without wishing you the best!! xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • waternymph88 · July 5, 2016

        Thank you darling xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

