Before The Party*

“So, are you noticing any adverse effects from the lurasidone?” Dr Stein says, pen poised above my notes.  We’re sitting in his consulting room this morning, on opposite sides of the desk.  The panther lies on the floor at my feet: head resting on his front paws.

“No, I don’t think so,” I say.  “I’m taking it just after supper and then going straight to bed – trying to sort out my sleeping and…”

“How is your sleeping now?” He says, scribbling something.

“Well I’m in bed by about nine o’clock and getting a fair bit of sleep,” I say.  “I’m waking up a couple of times in the night, but it’s better than it was a couple of weeks ago when I just wasn’t sleeping.”

“Good,” he says.  “And how are you feeling?”

“Well my parents think I seen a bit brighter,” I say.  “And one of the people at Spin thought I seemed a bit better this morning.  And I’m speaking to people a bit – at Spin.  Not seeing or speaking to any of my friends though – and I’m still crying about Seb for hours every day and…”

“You need to see some people your own age,” he says – a concerned look in his blue eyes.

“I’m going to a party tonight actually,” I say.  “Even though I really don’t want to, of course.  It’s a friend who I’ve known for ages and it’s nearby so I can get a cab there and…”

“Good,” he says.  “Now: let’s put up the dose of the lurasidone and then you’ll be on a therapeutic amount so…”

“Great,” I say.  

“You seem a bit brighter to me,” he says.  “I’ll see you when you’ve been on the higher dose for three weeks.”

Had better put on a Party Dress and think of some Topics of Conversation:

1.  The Davis Cup tie against Serbia.  Am watching the Doubles at the moment: the Serbian pair have just taken the second set.

2.  Flaviu the Lynx: his current location and future plans.

3.  There must be something else that isn’t Brexit, the War on Terror etc.

4.  The Olympics.

5.  The weather: it is a sunny day so can talk about how nice it is that the rain is holding off for the moment.

6.  Can ask my conversational partner if they like cats or dogs and then show them photos of the fluffy monster and/ or Mr Fluffypants, depending on their answer.

Anyway: need to get dressed and prepare to leave house or it will never happen.  The attached photo is today at Spin with the instructors.

Happy Saturday everyone!
*1949.  By Rodney Ackland.  Play adapted from a short story by Somerset Maugham.

5 comments

  1. samdfb1 · July 17, 2016

    Hope you had loads of fun at the party! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • waternymph88 · July 17, 2016

      I had fun actually! Want to show you my outfit but it didn’t really go with the post…xxx

      Like

      • samdfb1 · July 17, 2016

        Great! Well at this point I can only assume you have gym workout clothes. Kidding.

        Liked by 1 person

      • samdfb1 · July 17, 2016

        Glad you had fun. You totally deserve it! Xxz

        Liked by 1 person

  2. samdfb1 · July 17, 2016

    Sorry…tired and hungry. I meant: xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

