The Cat Who Turned On And Off*

“So, how are things?” Dr Stein my psychiatrist says.  We’re sitting in his office.  The panther lies on the floor at my feet.  

“Well, I’ve had an infection, so I’ve been on antibiotics for the last few days, so I’ve been really tired,” I say.

“And how is the infection now?” He says, scribbling in my notes.

“It’s cleared up now,” I say.  “But my mood is still low.  It’s been low for five months and…I was wondering whether I could have an antidepressant – duloxetine or venlafaxine or…”

“Let’s have a look,” he says, picking up his book of what-interacts-with-what.  “Well, it looks as if venlafaxine can be combined with lurasidone and…”

“What about the Zoladex and Letrazole?” I say.

He looks these up in the book.  “No, no interactions listed so…”

“So is venlafaxine better than duloxetine?” I say.  “Because I’ve been on duloxetine recently and…”

“Yes, I think venlafaxine’s better,” he says, his blue eyes bright.

“You see, the thing is,” I say, watching the panther grooming himself.  “My mood has never been low for this long before – it’s been five months now.  And I wonder whether the lurasidone is stabilising it too low or…well, I think I need an antidepressant.”

“I agree,” Dr Stein says.  “So we’ll start you on 37.5mg per day, and we’ll put it up to 75mg per day next week.”

“I’ll just get Mum because she’ll want to talk to you,” I say.

So: have taken my first antidepressant; achieved a walk this morning (30 minutes) and seen a chum for lunch. Have just woken up after my Body Scan and afternoon sleep.

Am just scribbling this before Midsomer Murders at 6pm.  It includes a Headless Horseman!  The attached photo is the fluffy monster inside, due to the bad weather.

Happy Saturday everyone!
*1968.  By Lilian Jackson Braun.  Book 3 in “The Cat Who” series of murder mystery novels.

2 comments

  1. dmf2001 · September 10

    am also on 75’s of the venos, dosage has gone up and down over the years (about 7!) but they’re good. And we had Good weather today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

