Cards On The Table*

“I’m just going out for a walk in the freezing darkness,” I say to Mum.  She’s sitting at a card table with three of her bridge chums.  They’re in the middle of a match: there are cards on the table.  They laugh.

“Come here and give me a hug,” Mum’s partner says.  She’s one of my best people: my substitute grandma.  Squeezing past one of the other ladies, I move round the table to give her a hug.  She wraps her arms around me.

Outside, it’s cold.  I’ve put on a warm coat but soon enough I’m too hot and end up taking it off.  Looking up, I see a flock of long-tailed tits landing in a tree.  They chirp – about ten of them.  So that’s nice.

Now I’m back on the parental sofa, drinking a Diet Coke.  The panther sprawls across the sofa next to me, resting his head on the arm rest.  His eyes are closed.  Every so often, he twitches an ear.

Achievements of the day:

1.  Work hard at personal training: see attached outfit photo.  Do four sets of twenty kilograms on the chest press and four sets of a hundred and fifty kilograms on the leg press, as well as various other weights.  My trainer is pleased with me.

2.  Walk to gym from flat and from station to parentals: 30 minutes.

3.  Wash self.

4.  Body Scan meditation and sleep.  The fluffy monster has a sleep with me, under my chair.  Now he’s grumpy that he’s dozed through the day and isn’t allowed out in the dark.

5.  Double walk around the block: 30 minutes.

Happy Friday everyone!
*1936.  By Agatha Christie.  Hercule Poirot detective novel, set at a bridge evening.

Leave a Reply

