I wind my wool around your heart


When you leave it’s needle sharp.
I knit this blanket round your soul:
Just feel the softness of the yarn.

You say you want to be alone –
I answer: knit one purl one.
You say this isn’t what you want.
I turn the needles, start another row.
There are more things in heaven and earth than can be solved by balling wool –
And for the rest there’s sleep and tea.
Don’t disappoint me when you leave –
I know this isn’t forever, darling:
But stay with me for now.
I knit our love into a scarf
To wrap around your neck at night
To hold you tight between the stitches of my pain
Drop one, pick it up again.

Even more now than before
I know you’ll leave and pull this thread,
Unravelling my work as I cry in bed –
Helpless to halt the unpicking of this place where all I want’s your heart, your face.

Your hair curls across my pillow
Where we are happy, and together weave
A blanket of all our shared dreams.

The lurex thread that runs through my yarn
I wind it through your silken hair
Breathe into your ear again
“You are mine and we must rest”

You lie back upon my bed
Sink into the memory foam.
You are the centre of my world
The scarf of our love unfurled.
I wrap my wool around your soul
To bind us tight against the endless night.
Hope you like it.

Spin outfit in the attached photo.

Happy Saturday everyone.

6 comments

  1. Sally · January 7

    I think you should try and get this published in one of the knitting or craft magazines. It’s really good xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bipolarbrainiac · January 7

    Nice. Finally some poetry I can understand and feel deeply. Allison

    Liked by 1 person

  3. L. Rorschach · January 10

    Beautiful ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

