Flitting Through My Fingers*

Oh, to hold this moment
Wherein I am at peace:

Knitting resting on my lap,

Dog sleeping at my feet.

The night comes down, a purple curtain,

Inside I’m safe and warm.

It’s quiet here, and all around

Window lights glow gold.

Oh, to hold this feeling

That I’m where I need to be –

That all life’s cruel and evil tricks

Cannot trouble me.

And yet I know this peace will flee

Though I knit it into my scarf.

Here is love and here is rest,

Though outside it is dark.

The world is tough, the world is harsh –

Cruel lessons still to learn –

I live in fear my fragile peace

Will fracture, dissolve or burn.

And yet I try to hold this moment

To sear it into my soul

Where all is dark and troubled

And I can never be whole.

The above photos are with Mr Fluffypants today.  The attached photo is Gracie Fields’ house which we stumble across on our walk.

Look who evolved earlier:


Isn’t he gorgeous?

Now Mr Fluffypants is resting and am sort-of watching The O.A and now will carry on with my knitting…

Happy Tuesday everyone!
*1981.  Song by ABBA.  Written by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus.  Released as a single in Japan.

Am listening to ABBA Gold Anniversary Edition at the moment whilst walking.

3 comments

  1. waternymph88 · January 11

    Heh. Got the song title wrong. It is “Slipping Through My Fingers” 😂

    Like

  2. Marje @ Kyrosmagica · January 13

    Loving your poetry and your fluffy pants!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

