Alcohol*

So I’ve been sober since 30th August which is NINE WHOLE MONTHS.  Well done me.  

Things I Don’t Miss About Drinking:

  1. Vomiting up half a bottle of gin and then drinking again the next day.
  2. Puking up half a bottle of wine at lunchtime and then drinking again in the evening.
  3. Paranoia.
  4. Anxiety about where my next drink was coming from starting at eleven o’clock in the morning.
  5. Saying stupid things when drunk.
  6. And regretting them the next day.
  7. Nights of disturbed sleep.
  8. Mum’s look of disappointment as I drank all the wine in a restaurant.
  9. Or at a dinner where no-one else was drinking.
  10. Arguments with my parents about my drinking.
  11. Arguing with Seb when we’d both been drinking.
  12. The weight gain.

And some things I do miss:

  1. A gin and slimline tonic on a spring or summer evening.
  2. Discovering new gin cocktails.
  3. The way that alcohol makes other people seem less boring and irritating: its social lubricating effect.
  4. Sharing a bottle of Rioja or Chianti with Mum over dinner.
  5. A nice cold glass of Sauvignon Blanc.
  6. The ritual of cocktail hour.
  7. Falling asleep in a red-wine-stupor.

On balance I feel better most of the time but I just don’t have any desire to go out in the evenings anymore.  Maybe that is aging but I think it’s partly because I don’t want to be in a place where other people are drinking.

The summer, my first non-drinking-summer, will be a challenge.  Hope it will somehow be OK.

On the plus side:

  1. This arrived from my uncle in Abroad:
  2. So am listening to it now.
  3. And drinking lemon squash with fizzy water.
  4. We’ve given the fluffy monster his allergy pill and he was a good boy: I held him and opened his mouth, Mum put it in the back of his throat and he swallowed it.  The darling boy.
  5. It’s vegetable curry for supper.
  6. See this ceanothus on the way here:
  7. We have found my EHIC and Caxton cards.  Phew.
  8. See Gandalf tomorrow for the first time in ages.  Have missed him.
  9. Push self hard at gym:
  10. Electrician has fixed all my bathroom lights.
  11. Spin tomorrow before Gandalf.

Happy Thursday everyone!
*1971.  Song by The Kinks.  Written by Ray Davies.  Appears on the album Muswell Hillbillies.

2 comments

  1. L. Rorschach · May 5

    Congratulations on 9 months sober! That is a huge achievement. I’m proud of you! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

