Game Set Danger*

“You’re not going to stop me enjoying this,” I say to the panther.  We’re at Queens to watch the tennis.  “I’ve been looking forward to this all year and…”

“I can stop you enjoying it,” the panther says, rubbing his head against my leg.  All around us people are drinking: champagne, Pimms, wine.  This is my first Non-Drinking Summer.

“Look, I’m going to watch the tennis,” I say to the panther.  “I’m going to enjoy it and…”

“Your shoulder hurts,” the panther says.  “And you look fat in that dress and…”

“It doesn’t matter,” I say.  “I’m just going to focus on the tennis.”

Happy Thursday everyone!
*1983.  By Anna Clarke.  Tennis crime novel.

2 comments

  1. L. Rorschach · June 22

    Good for you! I hope you had fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

