Got My Feet On The Ground*

“Here’s some coffee for you darling,” Mum says, putting it down on my bedside table.  “It’s ten o’clock and…”

“Seriously?” I say, sitting up in bed, feeling exhausted and spaced out: didn’t get home from the airport until about two o’clock in the morning. 

“You’re walking Gandalf at one o’clock,” Mum says.  “You can wear my navy coat – it’s going to be raining and…”

“Thank you,” I say, sipping my coffee.  The panther lies next to me in bed, resting his heavy head on my thighs.

Eventually, I haul myself out of bed, and find the fluffy monster collapsed on a chair in the playroom – driven inside by the rain.  Here he is:


Walking to Gandalf’s house there’s light drizzle.  He is very pleased to see me, wagging his feathery tail.  The rain stops and we walk through the woods: dappled sunlight falls through the trees.  Here we are:


I love this boy so much.  We stop for lots of cuddles and I kiss him on the top of his head – it’s so soft.  Am happy walking with Gandalf and listening to The Kinks.  The panther stalks along beside us, his tail waving in the air.

Have just done my Body Scan Meditation and had a small rest.  The fan whirrs: it’s stuffy in my bedroom but can’t open the window as it’s raining again.

“You’d better have a bath before supper,” Mum says.

I miss New Chap.  Wish he was here and could cuddle him…

Happy Wednesday everyone!
*1965.  Song by The Kinks from the 1965 album Kinda Kinks.

Leave a comment